Today I had my first visit with the midwives at Dr. Moritz's office. They did make me wait a good 35 minutes, but wasn't nearly as bad and the hour and a half I wanted for Moritz last time! And it's so true about the level of attention and just general vibe you get from them! She took me to a consultation room and spent at least 20 minutes talking to me and going over my personal and family history, and DETAILED information about eating right, exercising, things to expect, birthing classes to take, etc etc. While this was all great to hear, it was nothing new for me, and I wish she had skipped it all since I was here on my lunch break and was going way over my given hour due to the wait before she even saw me.

Then she took me to the examination gown and had me strip down and put on the gown. This surprised me since Moritz let me keep on my clothes, did no exam, and just exposed some skin for the sonogram. This time I was checked out top to bottom inside (OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!) out. She was quite thorough and while certain parts were extreeeeeeeeemely unpleasant, they did lend to very nice things to hear. Such as that the size and shape of my pelvis and cervix and all that good stuff is about as ideal as it comes for birthing! Well alright alright, with my lucky physical attributes combined with Ryoji's small stature, this baby should just shoot on out of there at the end of baking with a good sneeze! ^_^

Then, the best part. The part I had been worried about after reading on blogs about "missed miscarriages" (where the baby dies and you don't realize til the next doctor's visit when they can't find a heartbeat). She got out her little hand held doppler and as I started to tell her about my worries she cuts me off and says, "There's the heartbeat!" SWOOSH SWOOSH SWOOSH SWOOSH never sounded so good in my life. I nearly cried! It was so exciting, even though we heard it at the 8 week appointment a month ago, it was just as exciting this time!! Just to hear it and know everything is going well!! It was beating away at 164 beats per minute. I wish Ryoji had been there >_<

Well, that's that! Friday is my NT Scan, when I get to SEE the baby again!! I'm soooooooo excited for that, but also pretty nervous. That plot line on Private Practice where the lady's baby had no brain, ughhhh, that freaks me out. K



Leave a Reply.