Had my 25-week check in at the midwives today. Same old same old - pee in a cup, step on the scale, take my blood pressure (always 100-110 / 60-70), hear the baby's heart beat (the BEST part!!!). This time they finally measured my tummy - after about 20 weeks the length from the pubic bone to the top of the uterus should be about the same in centimeters as how many weeks along you are. Indeed, I measured spot on 25 centimeters, how cool is that?? Below is a photo of her measuring me. I also uploaded the heartbeat - you can hear 2 scratch kind of noises in the beginning when the baby kicked me twice - right on the spot where the doppler was! It was really funny! Apparently, the doppler machine sounds like a helicopter, so maybe the baby was like "what the hell is that??" and tried to swat it away? Then you can hear the midwife saying that she was just getting a "reflection" of the heartbeat, so she moved it and found the direct reading of the heartbeat, which gets a lot louder! Anyway, all is looking good!

Unfortunately I got the news that the hospital where I'll delivery REQUIRES the glucose tolerance test, which tests for gestational diabetes. Most women get the screening test, which is simply to drink the special sugary drink and get their blood taken 1 hour later. If they pass, they're done. If they fail, they have to go back and do a more extensive 3 hour test. WELL...not my hospital. They took a more conservative approach in their policies and REQUIRE all mommies to be to do the test before 28 weeks, and it's a 2 hour test with 3 blood draws (one before drinking the sugar solution, 1 1-hour after, and 1 2-hours after). YIKES! I found a lab in Staten Island that has Saturday hours. Otherwise, I’ll have to take a half day off from work, which is no good…

I also asked my midwife today about the odds of actually being able to use the birthing center. She said, a few years ago they had problems with lack of nurses limiting women being able to get in. They’ve since fixed that problem, and now the limitations are more based on timing (if you’re past 41 weeks) or health issues of mom or baby. So, she said I have a pretty good chance of getting in. That was good to hear!
25w3d_heartbeat.amr
File Size: 44 kb
File Type: amr
Download File

Mom
9/14/2012 02:05:01 pm

Great news and updates! but sorry about the lengthy blood test coming up.

Reply
Jennifer
9/16/2012 11:46:03 pm

Very good that the odds are now better to get into the birthing center.

Reply



Leave a Reply.