OMG drama! Got a voice mail today from our property management. Apparently someone in our "vicinity" has "tested positive for bed bugs" and they need the exterminator to come inspect our apartment. AGH!! We haven't had any bites yet, thank goodness, so hopefully we don't have them and it's just a precaution. But OMG, I'm so paranoid now! Not only cuz I know what a nightmare and hassle it is to get rid of them, but now I'm pregnant and HELL NO do I want poison sprayed all over our bed frame and apartment!! Not to mention the crib is being delivered tomorrow. Ughhhh...

On to happier news - we bought a crib yesterday! I've been scouring Craigslist for months now, mostly for cribs and gliders. I hate the traditional cribs that you find at all the baby stores. Just not my style and I felt so sad thinking we might have to buy one of those. I really love the modern cribs and had narrowed it down to my two favorites: the Babyletto Mercer Espresso/White and the Nurseryworks Billy Twinkle. Both are 3-in-1 cribs meaning they transition from the crib (with multiple mattress heights) to toddler bed (including a toddler rail which can be used or removed). If we went with a new crib, I was gonna get the Nurserworks, which is only $199 new. The Babyletto runs for $399 new, so I was only considering it if we could find it used... and we did! Last week I found it on Craigslist and last night we went over and checked it out. It had some baby bite marks, some dings here and there, and half of the under-drawer is not in optimal working condition (hopefully we can fix it, but if not, it's fine to use the crib without the drawer), but hey, $75!! Plus $20 for the guy to delivery it, but still, under $100, not so bad! Plus - no off gassing, no wasting of materials and energy involved in making and shipping a new crib, etc.




Leave a Reply.