So, at my 28 week appointment, my uterus measured right on for growth and size at 28 centimeters, and we found out the baby was breech.  At my 30 week appointment this week, the midwife was a tad concerned because I again measured at 28 centimeters - not showing any growth in my belly. Granted, there is certainly some room for error as they just feel my uterus and use a tape measure. But she asked what kind of movements and body parts I felt and where, then did a bit of a mashing around exam with her hands, and came to the conclusion that she thinks Akapanchan is hanging out in there SIDEWAYS!! It seems his head is under my right rib, and then he's kinda laying across the middle of my belly with his feet kicking about on my left side. This might be why the vertical measurement of my uterus hasn't grown in the last two weeks, because I've gotten wider and they don't measure that direction. Oh my goodness, this kid has just got his own way of doing things huh??

I found a website, www.spinningbabies.com which is really interesting and shows you how to "map" out your baby's position, and gives great tips on how to change to optimal head down backward facing position. So now I've tried twice kneeling on the couch, with my forearms down on the floor, for 30 seconds. But man, the blood rushes to my head and feels like my face is going to explode, or stroke out! That hasn't seemed to have any effect on Akapanchan yet. So tonight when I noticed him moving about a bit, i.e. awake and in my opinion more open to repositioning, I grabbed a bag of frozen tortellini and my blackberry and decided to try my midwives suggestion from week 28. I placed that frozen bag of tortellini on the top of my tummy, by where his head usually bulges out, and put a music video from glee on my phone and placed it at the bottom of my tummy. Boy oh boy, Akapanchan went nuts moving around!! I was convinced he was flipping!! I gave it 2 songs worth, and then went about my business. But now as I'm sitting here I'm feeling the head-like bulb bulging around under my right rib again, so either he didn't change his position or he's back in breech - great! Will just have to keep on trying!

Ryoji joined his first birth class with me today. We got to practice 2 types of breathing, and also some labor positions such as the slow dance and a couple of ways to walk together with him supporting me. We're the only couple in the class with the mom bigger than the dad, and it will definitely effect which positions work for us, but we'll figure it out!

In other news, VEINS. Huge network of big scary blue veins! haha! The sides of my belly and of course the big mama jama cans are covered in them, but I find them fascinating!! Most times of the day they're not so obvious, but when I get home from work they're just ridiculous! Maybe the vascular system is worked up after my 10 minute walk home? Not really sure, but MAN they're CRAZY!!



Leave a Reply.