Leg cramps are one of the multitude of symptoms you read about plaguing pregnant women, and I have to say I have noticed a major increase in this realm of body issues going on. Before pregnancy, I probably got a charley horse in my calf like once a year, but it would go 0-60 instantly, no warnings, just dire pain causing me to dive down to my foot to stretch it out and relieve the cramp. But what's going on now is a whole nother ball game and it's WEIRD!!!

A few months ago it started. We'd be sitting on the couch watching a movie. My feet are up on the coffee table, of course, and I'd notice my right bit toe start to curl down all by itself. WTF!?!?! No pain, just moving at it's own will in no connection to the other toes. This would happen from time to time and one time I pointed it out to Ryoji who was also a bit freaked out by it, but we never really thought anything about it. Fast forward to a month or 2 ago and now it's the whole foot involved, and it seems this is the precursor to the leg cramp. It usually happens at night. I'll wake up with a weird sensation in one of my feet and notice the foot is starting to curl down. It's not painful, but kind of tense, you can feel that the muscles are contracting and thus pulling the toes and foot down. Usually I'm able to catch it at the first stage, still lying on my back, and just use my foot muscles to stretch the foot back and it's over. But I've noticed there is a point of no return - if my foot manages to curl down past a certain degree, it's all over and my foot/leg muscles lose the ability to stretch it out, and if someone doesn't physically get down there to pull the foot back it's a full blown charley horse attack! This happened last night, and Ryoji was on a business trip. I woke up and my foot was curled down and I was like "oh no, oh no" I couldn't do anything so I lifted that leg up to where i could to stretch it out, and that worked, but then I realized that was a bit of a strain on my belly muscles and probably in another month or so I might not be able to pull that maneuver off. Yikes!! It might be Ryoji to the rescue from here on out! Unless I concoct some sort of strange sock to sleep in that will keep my feet in a flexed position...
Mom
10/7/2012 01:53:35 pm

Ah yes, I get these now and then. If it's too severe to reach down and pull the ball of my foot back, I have to get out of bed and (weight on the good foot) put the cramped foot behind me and lean forward (so just the toes are on the ground) while slightly bending both knees. Kind of like a lunge move. Best to practice this move before you get a cramp so you'll know how to do it. Hope this description makes sense.

Reply
10/1/2013 10:43:10 am

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Reply



Leave a Reply.