I've been on maternity leave for a full week now and have gotten so much stuff down! I think we're officially ready for Akapanchan's arrival! Unfortunately, the midwife I saw for my checkup yesterday said she doesn't think the big day will be early, though I didn't have the internal exam so it's not based on anything other than I'm a first timer with no signs of labor. I guess those are pretty good things to go by though!

The only thing we're still missing is a changing table, but we have the changing pad and cover and diapers and wipes and warmer, so we can just plop it all on a spot on the floor temporarily, no worries! I've set up the baby's "closet" which turned out quite nice if you ask me (and thanks to my sister who had the idea of using a shower rod to hang the curtains!). The crib is *almost* ready to go, with our wonderful organic mattress and mattress pad (which didn't have any sort of smell when pulling them out of their packaging - definitely a good sign!), but as you can see in the photo the mattress needs to be let down to the next level before we put the baby in there as I fear one big sneeze and Akapanchan would flip right out of there to the floor! ha!
Ryoji's co-workers threw him a surprise baby shower and he got tons of fun goodies including clothes, swaddle blankets, kimono style onesies from Japan, CUUUUUUUUUTE little fleece lined booties, etc. It was so sweet of them!!! We've been so blessed with such sweet gifts from all of our family and friends! I can't wait for them to meet little Emi or Kenzo! Below is the carrier/car seat and infant body support insert we're borrowing from Ryoji's awesome co-worker, Miyuki!
In body news, I just got the fun idea to measure my belly circumference which came in at a whopping 43 inches - yowza!! With 27 pounds gained, I guess it's no surprise! Will be interesting to see how big Akapanchan is at birth!

Also, yesterday's checkup was the first time my blood pressure was anything other than 110/70. It was 120/80 and neither the nurse nor the midwife mentioned anything about it, so I guess it's fine. Just curious if it was related to the big salty lunch I had with Shilpa a couple hours prior, or if it's on the rise and next week will be even higher... guess we'll have to see!
Mom
12/14/2012 02:00:04 pm

Loved seeing these goodies! You did a great job setting up the baby's closet! Sooo cute plush animals from Chris and Ron.

Reply
Jennifer
12/19/2012 08:43:08 am

So happy the closet turned out so well. Love curtains you found = they match everything so well. Great job!

Reply
12/6/2017 10:29:58 pm


I appreciate everything you have added to my knowledge base.Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer.Thanks.

Reply



Leave a Reply.