So, it started 2 weeks ago and has been getting increasingly bad... pain in the right hip, mostly in the back like in my butt and around the hip joint. The pain migrates, but it's never been shooting pain or anything that seems like sciatica. I asked my midwife and she thinks it's just the hormone relaxin doing it's job to loosen up my hips for the birth. Perhaps it's doing too good of a job because each step is like a knife stabbing me. The worst is over night and in the morning, the pain actually takes my breath away and has had me keeled over once or twice. Preparation for the big day?? I'm starting to look into one of those support belts, but it seems most of them are designed to support the weight of the belly as the cause of back pains, as opposed to the hip bones and cartilage causing the issue. We have our big ultrasound next week, maybe the hospital can give me some special gear??

On a more positive note, little Akapanchan is getting stronger and more active day by day! Until now, Ryoji had just gotten a tap here or there, but 2 nights ago our little nugget was moving around like crazy in there and Ryoji put his face to my belly and got right in on the action, even getting a bit punch in the cheek at one point! Here is a video I took - you can barely see, but there are a couple of big ones and a couple of teeeeeeeny ones if you pay attention!

Also, below is the heartbeat from my 21 week visit (everything was good with the visit, by the way!):
21w3d_heartbeat.amr
File Size: 50 kb
File Type: amr
Download File




Leave a Reply.