I ventured into the Manhattan Maternity Complex (Pea in the Pod, Motherhood Maternity, and Destination Maternity) after work on Friday. They didn't harass me as much as in the Brooklyn store, but a couple girls did come by and introduce themselves and offer assistance and apple juice and whatnot. But a quick "I'm just looking" and they left me alone to my devices, yippee!! I quickly realized that 2 of the stores are WAY above my price range... the sales racks had pants going for $120-ish... on SALE!! yowza. I found 2 cute tops to try on, and here's the fun part - they have these strap on 7-month bellies so you can see how the clothes will fit you down the road a bit! How fun is that!!?? So of course I snapped a photo (below - and apparently the preggo belly gives you magical Harry Potter-esque powers - I summoned a ball of light in my hand!) for Ryoji. His comment "That's huge!!!" haha. I didn't end up getting either of the shirts cuz while they worked with the belly, they didn't work with my tummy now, so that's no good. I also tried on some skinny jeans with the scary preggo panel, and you know what, that thing is MAJOR COMFY!! screw buttons and wastes that cut in to your muffin top after eating a bagel!! haha!! Will definitely be buying a pair of those in the next month or two, assuming I can find a good style/color/price/fit >_<
Mom
8/7/2012 12:33:34 pm

Fun - a preview of how you'll look at Thanksgiving! Love the photo; it really does look like a magic ball of light. So glad you had the interest to try on the pants with the panel, it's a shame they get such a bad rap because they are comfortable. I think Jennifer liked the belly band stretchy thing. It seems to smooth out any bulges.

Reply



Leave a Reply.