We had our big ultrasound today and all looked good!! I was so glad Ryoji could join in on the fun. It took about 40 minutes I think, the technician was really careful to get the photos and measurements of just about everything from the brain to the 4 chambers of the heart to the legs, arms, hands, feet, umbilical cord, abdomin, and facial profile. That last one was tough as the baby had his/her hands covering his/her face the entire time! Finally the tech had me go to the bathroom to see if the baby would change position, and I decided to do some dancing and jumping around for good measure. Would you know - it worked! But the profile shots are just hilarious, Ryoji and I were practically in tears from laughing at the print outs - are we having a werewolf baby??? We asked the doctor, who came in at the end to review everything and say it all looked good, if that weird profile was normal and he said, absolutely! Not satisfied, I proceeded to google it at work, and got a lot of reassurance from similarly freaked out moms-to-be who said the angles and movement make it really tough to get an accurate photo, so things look distorted and not at all what the baby will actually look like. So, that's a relief! Otherwise, our baby is gonna have a huge protruding nose and overbite! ^_^ Of course we'll still love it to pieces!!

Measurement wise, the baby was perfect at a delicate 1lb 4oz and measuring right at 23 weeks, putting the estimated due date (EDD) at December 21, which is same as I got at my 12 week scan, just 2 days up from my initial 8 week scan which said December 23.

In the photos, you can see the baby has its legs curled up to its tummy - total fetal position, haha!!
Picture




Leave a Reply.